VADCFLL-L Archives

First Lego League in Virginia and DC


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Phil Smith III <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Phil Smith III <[log in to unmask]>
Sat, 8 Nov 2008 23:38:39 -0500
text/plain (37 lines)
It's a judgement call by the refs as to whether it's intentional or not. If the robot goes to lift it, the sample wedges in the hole, and the robot pulls the ring apart, that's (probably) not going to be ruled intentional. If, OTOH, you bring the ring back to base, open it, and then deliver it open for some reason, that's clearly intentional damage.

Everything else is somewhere on the spectrum...
Phil Smith III
Virginia State Judge Advisor, 2007, 2008
Judge Advisor, Northern Virginia Regional tournaments, 2006
Division 1 Judge Advisor, Virginia State tournament, 2006

Coach, The Capital Girls, Oak Hill (retired)
Team 1900 (2002)
Team 2497 (2003)
Team 2355 (2004)
Team 1945 (2005)
-----Original Message-----
From: First Lego League Discussion [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Lloyd O'Hara
Sent: Saturday, November 08, 2008 5:46 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Red Ice Core Ring Question

just a guess but I think that would come under the heading of intentional 
field damage.
----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Sean Paus" <[log in to unmask]>
To: <[log in to unmask]>
Sent: Saturday, November 08, 2008 4:41 PM
Subject: [VADCFLL-L] Red Ice Core Ring Question

> Is there a penalty for breaking the red ring that surrounds the ice
> core sample when retrieving the ice core sample?  I have not found
> anything that says one way or the other.

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SETTINGS, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit and select "Join or leave the list".