VADCFLL-L Archives

First Lego League in Virginia and DC


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
First Lego League in Virginia and DC <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 9 Oct 2012 15:57:47 -0400
Laura Oder <[log in to unmask]>
Laura Oder <[log in to unmask]>
1.0 (1.0)
text/plain; charset="utf-8"
To: Brian Hardy <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (53 lines)
Quick question. In the bowling, where does the bowling ball begin the mission, in base or on the bowling lane?

Laurie Oder

Sent from my iPad

On Oct 9, 2012, at 1:50 PM, Brian Hardy <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Be sure to read all of rule 21 - if the part(s) in question are supposed to be permanently attached to the robot, but have been separated by damage - you can pick it up.
> And of course if the object is a mission model that scores if it gets to base, but gets dropped outside of base, it does not score (subject to the rule 21 exception), but that's covered in the Missions and Updates.
> Brian
> On Oct 8, 2012, at 12:04 AM, VA/DC Referee Advisor wrote:
>> In most cases the scoring for the missions does not say anything about
>> objects that the robots leaves on the board.
>> Rule 27, Scoring, bullet 1 says:
>> Unless a specific method is required, your score is assessed based on
>> the conditions at the exact time the match ends only.
>> Rule 3, Interpretation, bullet 2 says:
>> If a detail isn’t mentioned, then it doesn’t matter.
>> Each of the Missions tells its criteria for earning a score.
>> The only mission score that can be affected by LEGO objects left on
>> the field is the Transitions mission.
>> Rule 21, Failure and Loss, bullets 2 and 4 specifically mention
>> objects and cargo that the robot leaves on the field--so you know that
>> leaving objects on the field is allowed:
>> - Objects moved/left outside Base are not replaced or moved out of the
>> way by hand.
>> - Cargo the robot loses contact with is left wherever it comes to rest
>> There is nothing in the Rules that allows for "partial points"
>> (although some results for accomplishing a mission are worth more than
>> others, of course.)
>> Bottom line--yes, it is okay for the robot to leave objects scattered
>> around the field at the end of the match.  They will not affect the
>> scoring, except as specifically described in the Updates, Missions,
>> and Rules.
>> Steve Scherr

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.