VADCFLL-L Archives

First Lego League in Virginia and DC


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
First Lego League in Virginia and DC <[log in to unmask]>
Sun, 16 Oct 2011 14:51:00 -0400
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain; charset="windows-1252"
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (43 lines)
No, the statement about "any direction" is incorrect.

Rule 8 describes Base, and has a nice diagram:

Base is an imaginary box formed by vertical walls that rise from the
perimeter of the Base area, including the inside surface of the border
walls, and by an invisible ceiling 16 in (40 cm) high.
• This means Base is not just an area on the mat – it’s a VOLUME.
• Usually there is a gap between the mat and a side border wall… Base
includes this gap.

So the sides of Base are walls coming up from the border lines and the
walls, and the top is 16 inches high.

As Sonya said, an attachment or part of the robot that extends over
the table wall is not an acceptable starting position.

After the robot starts, then it is allowed to extend over the table
wall under its own power.

Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Sun, Oct 16, 2011 at 2:15 PM, B Bergenstock <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> It's 16 inches in any direction.
> Brandy
> On Sat, Oct 15, 2011 at 6:44 PM, Viquar Shaikh <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>> Hello
>> With the robot in base at the start can a attachment go over the side wall
>> on the South and West wall. Would that still be considered as being safe in
>> base??
>> Thanks much,
>> Viquar

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.