I am not sure what a "safety zone" is. I think you are referring to what is
described in the rules as the "base". In this case, the answer to your
question is yes (even if they are ..."not touching the mat"). The base is a
volume. Rules 39 and 11 provide the answer to your question.
*39 - Start/Restart Position* - For the match start and all restarts:
- EVERY BIT of the robot, including its installed attachments & wires,
and everything touching it, and any objects it is about to move or use,
must ALL fit COMPLETELY in Base.
*11 - Base* - Base is an imaginary box formed by vertical walls that rise
from the perimeter of the Base area, including the inside surface of the
border walls, and by an invisible ceiling 12" (30cm) high.
- This means Base is not just an area on the mat - it’s a VOLUME.
- The lines that define Base count as part of Base.
- Usually there is a gap between the mat and a side border wall… Base
includes this gap (pictured in red).
On Sat, Oct 11, 2014 at 7:28 PM, Rajeev <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> Do we need to have robot inside including attachment in safety zone , even
> if these attachment are not touching mat ?
> Sent from my iPhone
> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via
> VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.