VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2008

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Proportional Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Sender:
First Lego League Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 8 Oct 2008 20:22:54 -0400
Reply-To:
Glenn Roberts <[log in to unmask]>
Subject:
From:
Glenn Roberts <[log in to unmask]>
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative; boundary="----=_NextPart_000_002C_01C92983.A52E9D80"
In-Reply-To:
<p06240801c512f1cf0b23@[192.168.1.46]>
MIME-Version:
1.0
Comments:
To: Michael Blanpied <[log in to unmask]>, [log in to unmask]
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (5 kB) , text/html (11 kB)
Ok thanks. On re-reading I think I get both your points.  I guess I was
looking for more of a challenge here - seems like this a pretty wimpy
mission- all you basically have to do is push down to release the wheel
which is just outside of base (and make sure you didn't put anything in the
way of its travel beforehand). 

 

From: First Lego League Discussion [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On
Behalf Of Michael Blanpied
Sent: Wednesday, October 08, 2008 7:36 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Question on the "Test Levees" mission

 

Glenn,

 

I don't agree with your points 1 and 2. The point of the mission is to give
the storm a chance to batter the levees. Actions are precluded if they
prevent the storm from doing so. If the storm is a wimpy one that rolls
through a gap, that's the storm's fault, not the team's.

 

1.  Ruling 17 says that the storm wheel must be allowed to hit or miss the
levees. If it rolls through a gap, then it has missed. At that point it no
longer matters whether it later coasts to a stop, hits the wall, veers off
down the table, or hits a strategic object.

 

2. Pre-existing levees are not strategic objects. Thus, the storm is not
"strategically blocked" if it hits a pre-existing levee. (In fact, part of
the point is that the storm likely WILL hit one of those levees, in the
absence of clever action on the part of the team, and may cost the team five
points in so doing. In that case the team gains 15 points for the storm and
loses 5 points for the fallen levee, a net gain of 10 points.)

 

And remember, when it comes to counting levee points, the only thing that
matters is which ones are standing, and on what color of low-lying shore, at
the end of the match. How the levees ended up there is completely up to the
team; since there's nothing said about that, anything goes, anything at all.

 

Cheers,

Mike Blanpied

 

I'm still a bit unclear on the "test levees" mission and thought I'd get the
opinion of this group. The mission description and latest rule updates (from
the Q&A) are as follows:

 

Mission: See how levees survive when a storm approaches (activate the
wheel-roller). The wheel must be allowed to roll freely until it either hits
or misses the levees. The activation is worth 15 points whether the levees
are hit or missed, but worth no points if the wheel is strategically blocked
by anything other than released levees near or past the green shore.

 

RULING 17 - Levee Blocking 1

Nothing new here; just re-stating based on questions: 1) The storm wheel
must be allowed to "hit or miss" levies, so the robot can't tamper with the
thrower's operation (If I throw a baseball at the moon, of course it won't
hit the moon, but did I miss? No!---My arm was too wimpy to give me the
chance to miss), and 2) The only levee blocks allowed to block the wheel are
those far enough away from the thrower as to be considered "near" the shores
by the referee. Make them obviously closer than half way if you want a
favorable call from the ref.

 

RULING 19 - Levee Blocking 2

A strategic object in the pink grid area is not a problem if the wheel never
hits it. So if you're reinforcing your delivered levies with a strategic
object, make sure the levies themselves are still what the storm would hit,
and you'll be all set.

 

 

The question is on the interpretation of the phrase "worth no points if the
wheel is strategically blocked by anything other than released levees".
Here's how I interpret the rule.

 

1.       The wheel rolls through a gap in the levees and is eventually
stopped by the wall of the competition table: 0 Points, the wheel was
blocked by something other than a "released levee" (but was it
"strategically blocked" ??).

2.       The wheel is blocked by one of the three pre-existing levees that
were in place at the start of the round: 0 Points, the rule says only
"released" levees are allowed to block it (I presume that means ones that
the robot has placed there?).

3.       The wheel coasts to a stop without running into anything: 15
Points.

 

If I understand the gist of this challenge, it's to "release" the levees in
such a manner that they stop the "storm" (wheel).

 

Does this sound right??:

 

______________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________ To
UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SUBSCRIPTION, please visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
the list". If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which
FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select "Join or
leave the list".

 

______________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________ To
UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SUBSCRIPTION, please visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
the list". If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which
FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select "Join or
leave the list". 


______________________________________________________________
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SETTINGS, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".






ATOM RSS1 RSS2