What if the robot put a catcher for the compost at the compost station, go
away and return later to retrieve it?
Is this considered as stranding?
On Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 1:38 PM, VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
> As a referee, I have to be very precise in the words that I use. There
> can be as many as 12 Black Bars that will score negative points. You might
> consider them all penalties, but only 4 of them are officially Penalty
> objects. What is the difference? The Penalty objects have to stay on the
> mat, but the robot can try to do things with the other Black Bars to make
> them worth positive points.
> Steve Scherr
> Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor
> On Thursday, October 15, a team wrote:
>> What about the black bars which are part of mission models, like
>> demolition and toybox. If team fails to put them in sorter or trashbin on
>> east side of mat, will there be seprate penalty? Or at any given time team
>> can have maximum 4 penalty.
>> Please clarify.
>> On Oct 14, 2015 9:30 PM, "VA-DC Referee Advisor" <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>>> Yes, that's right. See the "Penalties" description in the Missions
>>> Penalties – For each Penalty as described in Rule D09, the Ref will
>>> place one Black Bar on the Mat in a convenient out-of- the-way place, not
>>> to exceed four Bars. The Ref may shift them out of the Robot’s way as
>>> needed, but they must always stay in a negative scoring position.
>>> The referee will assess a maximum of four Interruption and Junk
>>> Penalties on the Robot and Equipment in a match. After the maximum of four
>>> Black Bars have been placed on the mat because of a Penalty, the team can
>>> rescue the Robot by an Interruption without any additional scoring
>>> penalty. Models are still susceptible to being taken out of play because
>>> of an Interruption, or because of Stranding.
>>> The scoring value of each Black Bar placed as a penalty is Minus 8 per
>>> Bar, as described in M04, Sorting. The bars are no longer in their
>>> original Setup position (which was off the mat with the Referee) and may
>>> not be moved into a Green Bin or the Landfill.
>>> Steve Scherr
>>> Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor.
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.