VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2014

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Rosa Rodriguez-Finch <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Rosa Rodriguez-Finch <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 3 Nov 2014 20:41:23 -0500
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2315 bytes) , text/html (3272 bytes)
A follow-up question to this mission. Can the ball be dropped into the goal or does it have to bounce over the obstacle?



> On Nov 3, 2014, at 1:29 PM, Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> 
> As was described here, the shot would not count for mission points.
> 
> If the loop is attached to the robot, then it is part of the robot (Rule 12).  The Sports mission requires that all equipment involved with the shot is completely inside the shot lines.  The robot is involved with the shot, so the entire robot must be east/north of the shot lines.  That includes anything attachments joined to it, even if that attachment is not otherwise being used in the shot.
> 
> Steve Scherr
> VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor
> 
>> On Mon, Nov 3, 2014 at 11:40 AM, Saji Sukumaran <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>> Hi,
>> Not sure if this was answered earlier.
>>  
>> we have a robot with an attachment in the front that carries a loop (from previous mission). But that attachment is not involved in the throwing of the ball. An attachment behind the robot coupled to a different motor acts as a catapult to release the ball. But the issue is that the ball will fall into the goal only if the front part of the robot that is not involved with the throwing is outside the shot line. Is this allowed?
>>  
>> As per the rule
>> All equipment involved with the shot was completely east/north of the “Shot Lines” while sending the ball to the net. So does this incllude the whole robot with all the attachements, or is it just the robot with the throwing arm?
>>  
>> I woud really like help getting this clarified.
>>  
>> Regards,
>>  
>> Saji Sukumaran
>> Cascades Thunderbots
>>  
>> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list". 
>> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.
> 
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list". 
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.

ATOM RSS1 RSS2