"Hidden Freedoms" are a part of every FLL challenge so I wonder if this is
an opportunity. What text should be considered besides the scoring
condition? It states "the flower centerpiece can be there too". It doesn't
say "must be there." Steve noted that the referee will not adjust the field
set up prior to a match to a position requested by the team. After the
match begins, what constrains a team from removing the flower from the
MISSION: GROCERIES - Here's your chance to buy undamaged goods, as fresh as
possible, with the fewest ingredients possible, from trustable places, and
get your cold stuff home and put away as soon as possible!
SCORING CONDITION(S): EACH grocery unit is worth 2 POINTS if the table is
supporting all of its weight, and no weight other than grocery units (the
flower centerpiece can be there too).
----- Original Message -----
From: "VA/DC Referee Advisor" <[log in to unmask]>
To: <[log in to unmask]>
Sent: Wednesday, October 26, 2011 8:00 AM
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Position of flower on dinner table
> I'll have to stall on the question of whether the position of the
> flower centerpiece is specifically the middle of the table, while I
> send off a question.
> The response to the second question depends on the first--if the
> center of the table is the "official setup position", then the referee
> should move the centerpiece there if the team notices that it isn't
> there. If not, the referee shouldn't move the centerpiece to a
> specific location in response to a team request.
> I do know, from unofficial channels, that the centerpiece serves a
> dual function--to look pretty and to get in the way, so I am uncertain
> about how much weight to give to the specific location in the picture.
> Typically, pictures indicate general locations and layout, and
> wording and mat marks show specific locations (e.g. the Field Setup
> would have said "The flower is centered on the table. See pictures &
> mat marks.")
> Steve Scherr
> VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
> On Wed, Oct 26, 2011 at 1:19 AM, Andy Traiger <[log in to unmask]>
>> Is the position of the flower centerpiece on the table approximately in
>> center of the table as shown in the field setup picture? If we get to a
>> tournament table and the flower is substantially off-center on the dinner
>> table, may we ask the ref to move it to the center?
>> Andy Traiger
>> Coach Vienna Robotics
>> P.S. My team and I thank you sincerely for your quick, detailed and
>> enlightening responses to everyone's questions. Thanks for all you do to
>> make this a rewarding, educational and fun experience for the kids (and
>> coaches too)!
>> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
>> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
>> leave the list".
>> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via
>> VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit
>> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to
> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via
> VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.