VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2010

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Viquar Shaikh <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Viquar Shaikh <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 18 Oct 2010 08:37:56 -0400
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2802 bytes) , text/html (4 kB)
Stephen

Thanks for the clarification.

This brings up another question. In the scenario that the nurse is in base
along with the attachment that the robot used - but the robot is out of base
- that should be OK - correct? since any part of the robot along with the
attachments it started out with enters base - the kids can handle it.

Thanks again.
Viquar

On Sun, Oct 17, 2010 at 9:33 PM, Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Viquar,
>   No--each object that the robot retrieves from the field has to cross into
> Base itself before the team members may pick it up.
>
>  Under Rule 22, Touch Penalties,  it says:
>   If you touch the active robot or anything itís touching while:  a piece
> of CARGO is outside Base, you lose that piece of cargo, unless it was with
> the robot the last time the robot left Base.
>
> Also, Rule 18, Handling Not Allowed says:  You may not move or adjust
> anything outside Base, before, during, or after the match.
>
>    For the situation you described, the doctor (nurse) is a piece of CARGO
> (rule 14--the robot has it for transport).  That figure needs to cross into
> base (some part of it over the boundary line), or else the referee will take
> it off the field and out of play when the team touches the robot.
>
>   There is one exception this year--when any part of the syringe crosses
> into base, then the team may take the entire syringe, and the red and white
> blood cells it is carrying into Base.  (see the Mission description)
>
> Steve Scherr
> VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
>
>   On Oct 17, 2010, at 9:17 PM, Viquar Shaikh wrote:
>
>   Hello
>
> My question is regarding the nurse in base. When the robot grabs the nurse
> and comes back to base, is it sufficient that the robot is in base, while
> the nurse - still in the robot's grasp - is outside the base. Can the kids
> then pick up the nurse from outside the base??
>
> Thanks
> Viquar
> Team #8637
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
>
>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.








ATOM RSS1 RSS2