VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2014


Options: Use Proportional Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
multipart/alternative; boundary="f46d04389513da2a2405078c708c"
First Lego League in Virginia and DC <[log in to unmask]>
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Mon, 10 Nov 2014 21:57:33 -0500
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
text/plain (3098 bytes) , text/html (4 kB)
And it is perfectly fine for the team to ask the referee to show them that
the bulb side is facing south.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 9:28 PM, Fredrik Nyman <[log in to unmask]>

> If the field is correctly set up, the bulb will face south.
> (Rules page 9, Mission Model Arrangement and Setup, description of Box
> model).
> The team may ask the referee to double-check that models are correctly set
> up (rule 37), but themselves they may only inspect the field visually (rule
> 36).
> On Monday, November 10, 2014, Tchow222 <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>> Can the children check the box to make sure the lightbulb is facing a
>> certain direction inside the box before the round starts?
>> Nancy Nguyen
>> -Sent from my iPad
>> On Nov 10, 2014, at 3:54 PM, Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>> Let me provide an official response to Antony's question:
>> He asks: if the robot grabs the black reverse engineering basket
>> containing the original reverse engineering model and gets stuck outside
>> Base carrying the basket back to Base, can the team rescue the robot and
>> get a Robot Penalty?  The answer is Yes.  (Rules 43, 42, 26)
>> In addition, he asks--what happens to the basket with the original
>> reverse engineering model?
>> A)  does it go to Base with the Robot?  (No)
>> B)  does it get left on the field at the spot of the touch?  (No)
>> C)  does it get reset to its original position (No)
>> the correct result is
>> D)  The basket and contents are removed by the referee from the field,
>> and taken out of play.  No points can be earned for the Reverse Engineering
>> mission when this happens.
>> Why?
>> As Fredrik noted, since the robot is moving the basket, then the basket
>> is Cargo (Rule 16)
>> When you touch the robot and it has Cargo completely outside Base, then
>> there is a Cargo Penalty (Rule 44).  The penalty is that you lose the Cargo
>> that your robot picked up outside Base.
>> Analysis--
>> Is this a bad thing?  Your team has two choices--
>> 1)  it may leave the robot where it is and not score any more points.
>> 2)  it may rescue the robot and try to score more points.
>> Either way, the team doesn't score any points for Reverse Engineering, so
>> that shouldn't be a factor in deciding whether to rescue the robot or not.
>> Bottom line--your team gets three chances to earn its best single match
>> score.  That's all that counts.  Doing poorly in one match is okay, if it
>> allows you to learn and try stuff that helps you to earn more points in a
>> later match.
>> Our goal is for the teams to show us what they can do.  Not having the
>> robot do anything is only okay when the team doesn't have anything else
>> that it can do.
>> Steve Scherr
>> VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor
>> ------------------------------

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.