VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2014

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 4 Nov 2014 07:48:03 -0500
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2415 bytes) , text/html (3415 bytes)
It does not make a difference for the Sports mission whether the ball ends
up in the net on the fly, or after a bounce.

It is important for the Sports mission that the "shot" that puts the ball
in the net comes with the robot and its equipment completely behind the
shot lines on the mat.  A simple "drop" straight down into the net is not
okay.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor


On Monday, November 3, 2014, Rosa Rodriguez-Finch <[log in to unmask]>
wrote:

> A follow-up question to this mission. Can the ball be dropped into the
> goal or does it have to bounce over the obstacle?
>
>
>
> On Nov 3, 2014, at 1:29 PM, Stephen Scherr wrote:
>
> As was described here, the shot would not count for mission points.
>
> If the loop is attached to the robot, then it is part of the robot (Rule
> 12).  The Sports mission requires that all equipment involved with the shot
> is completely inside the shot lines.  The robot is involved with the shot,
> so the entire robot must be east/north of the shot lines.  That includes
> anything attachments joined to it, even if that attachment is not otherwise
> being used in the shot.
>
> Steve Scherr
> VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor
>
> On Mon, Nov 3, 2014 at 11:40 AM, Saji Sukumaran <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>
>> Hi,
>> Not sure if this was answered earlier.
>>
>> we have a robot with an attachment in the front that carries a loop (from
>> previous mission). But that attachment is not involved in the throwing of
>> the ball. An attachment behind the robot coupled to a different motor acts
>> as a catapult to release the ball. But the issue is that the ball will fall
>> into the goal only if the front part of the robot that is not involved with
>> the throwing is outside the shot line. Is this allowed?
>>
>> As per the rule
>> All equipment involved with the shot was completely east/north of the
>> “Shot Lines” while sending the ball to the net. So does this incllude the
>> whole robot with all the attachements, or is it just the robot with the
>> throwing arm?
>>
>> I woud really like help getting this clarified.
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Saji Sukumaran
>> Cascades Thunderbots
>>
>>
>>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2