VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2011

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 16 Oct 2011 23:08:15 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (49 lines)
Although I am sure that this is entertaining, it is not allowable to
touch and retrieve anything outside the volume which is Base. (Rule
14, Changing Things Outside Base--this catch would count as "changing
the motion" of something outside Base).

If mission models fall off the table, then then are taken by the
referee and are out of play for the rest of the match.  See Rule 19,
bullet 4:  "Cargo the robot loses contact with, is left wherever it
comes to rest (if it goes off the table, the ref keeps it)."

It is not related to allowed storage activities under Rule 15, since
storage always involves objects that are in Base.

Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor

P.S.  Remember, there is no "opposing table's rat".  There are two
Import/Export station models and rats that are shared between the
tables.  Neither "belongs" to either team or table.  Both are fair
game to use for scoring.  I can't even decide which rat teams might
consider to be belonging to the opposing table.  Is it the one that is
"in" the area over the opposing table, or the one that is "on" the
slide that is attached to the opposing table?


On Sun, Oct 16, 2011 at 10:47 PM, Richard Tate <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> I have a question for a ref.  One of my kids was able to get the robot to flip
> the opposing table's rat over the southern wall of our table and catch it by
> hand.  As I am writing this I think this would be ruled illegal, but he asked me
> to get a ruling on this. Would it count if he put this rat in base?  Can the
> argument be made that this is similar to moving items out of base to make
> room for the robot and putting them back at the end of the match?  It is
> entertaining to watch this.
>
>
> Thanks,
>
> Rich Tate (#8047)
> License to Chill
>
> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
>
> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.

ATOM RSS1 RSS2