VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2013

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Bdh612-ess <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Bdh612-ess <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 11 Nov 2013 10:28:45 -0500
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2408 bytes) , text/html (3209 bytes)
1) you do not need permission - the ref will place a roof tile

2) if the basket is "joined to the robot by hand" and is designed "to be removed only by hand", using "any method, any configuration", even if only temporarily, it is part of the robot and will not be subject to a junk penalty. Gravity is a method, so it counts. It the robot pushes it, it's cargo and a "strategic object", so it would be given a junk penalty.
We had one run at the competition where the only thing to make it to the red zone was part of the basket. We got the "safe place" points of course, but the ref had to check that each item in the basket made it into the zone on its own to score those (fortunately for us, they were all in the front part of the basket)..

Brian

Sent from my iPhone

On Nov 11, 2013, at 9:20 AM, Mssuchitra Suchitra <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Hi ,
>  
> We are a rookie team , and have some last minute questions. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
>  
> 1) When we send the robot for its missions, if it gets struck on a mission, I believe we can get the robot back to base with some penalty. In this case, can the kids go and pick the struck robot, and the referee would automatically apply the penalty (or) do they need to wait for the permission from the referee ?
>  
>     Would the penalty in the above case be deduction of points (or) placement of roof debris on the runway ?
>  
>  
> 2) Our team has built a basket which sits on the arm of the robot we have built (it is not attached to the robot per se, but sits fine on the robots arm). When this finally reaches the red zone, would we incur junk penalty for this basket as it is not fully attached to the robot....It still stays fine on the robots arm even though it is not attached.
>  
> Thanks
> Suchitra
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list". 
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2