VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2008

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Stuart Roll <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Stuart Roll <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 17 Oct 2008 12:01:07 -0700
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2999 bytes) , text/html (8 kB)
Avani -

 

Scoring for mission completion is based on the state of the table at the
end of the match.  If you bring a loose model (e.g., the Ice Buoy) back
to base before delivering it to the research area, that is totally
acceptable.

 

As long as you don't break any rules you are allowed to be as creative
as you wish.  Last year, at least one team "delivered the truck to the
farm" by hanging it on the hydroelectric dam.  The mission said that the
truck had to go TO the farm (not that it had to touch it) so even though
having a truck suspended in mid-air off a dam doesn't make any
real-world sense, the fact that the back end of the truck was over the
farm fulfilled the letter of the mission.  The fact that there was an
oil barrel in the back of the truck that was over the farm fulfilled
part of a different mission that required that a barrel be delivered TO
the farm but specifically NOT touching it.

 

That same year, one of the missions was to deliver a "wave-turbine" to
the ocean in the northwest corner.  The wave turbine was to be designed
and built by the team and it had to have moving parts.  One enterprising
team simply parked the robot in the ocean at the end of the match.  The
robot was built by the kids and had moving parts so it was a "wave
turbine" as far as scoring was concerned.

 

Encourage your kids to "think outside the box" and they just might
surprise themselves!

 

Note: The rules say that you are not allowed to "break dual-lock" so you
can't have the robot bring the house back to base so you can fiddle with
it there and then return it to its original spot.

 

Stuart

 

 

 

 

________________________________

From: First Lego League Discussion
[mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Avani Saini
Sent: Friday, October 17, 2008 1:47 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: [VADCFLL-L] breaking the task

 

I was wonderting if we are allowed to break tasks. eg collect some items
and bring them to base. As part of next task, drop them to the
destination. Just trying to make some tasks simple this way and have
different attachments for collecting and dropping.

 

Avani

 

______________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________ To
UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SUBSCRIPTION, please visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
leave the list". If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list -
to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select "Join
or leave the list". 


______________________________________________________________
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SETTINGS, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".






ATOM RSS1 RSS2