VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2010

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Eric Palmer <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Eric Palmer <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 9 Nov 2010 11:35:59 -0500
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (3001 bytes) , text/html (3768 bytes)
Robots out of base are active until touched. So a 5 pt penalty to bring back
to base.Doesn't matter if the robot is moving or not. So there are up to 8
touch penalties and then as many pickups as time allows.

FLL is an outstanding and engaging way to give kids a fun learning
experience. I love the fact that it is more than robotics. the teamwork and
project work make this so much better and the kids learn poise, confidence,
teamwork, the ability to engage with adults... and so much more...

Ruler in the base - no

This rule applies.  A ruler would be an accessory. Now if you made it
entirely out of lego parts, then that would be allowable (but there are
other rules that then apply on how you can use it).



*6 - EQUIPMENT
 Your equipment (robot, attachments, and other accessories) must be made
entirely of LEGO elements in
original factory condition.*


Eric Palmer
1740 TNBI


On Tue, Nov 9, 2010 at 11:02 AM, Craig Belcher <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Hi,
>
> This may be a dumb question but I have looked at the rules and searched the
> list for this question and I don't see it. Can a ruler be used to position a
> robot while it is still in base? Paint, tape and glue I see not allowed.
>
> Another one, when a robot is active and then becomes inactive on the field
> after a certain mission is there a penalty every time you touch it when
> bring it back to base or are you allowed to touch it to bring it back after
> each mission? i.e.
>
> 1. Robot is activated, completes a mission, comes to stop instead of coming
> back to the base on it's own. You then pick it up to bring it back for the
> next mission. Is that a 5 point penalty or is the robot considered inactive?
> I was thinking you needed to have it come back on it's own and if you
> assisted then it was a penalty.
>
> While I did attend a training camp last year this is my first year as a
> coach. To top it off this is the school's first year participating so we
> have had a big learning curve to overcome. However even after all the hours
> I have put into helping the kids learn and get acquainted with FLL I think
> this is one of the most engaging, hands on curriculum I have ever seen.
> Seeing the joy in their eyes after a successful mission is more than worth
> it. (yet they are learning and don't realize it :)
>
> Thank you Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center for helping me get
> this started in our school.
>
> --
> Craig Belcher
>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.








ATOM RSS1 RSS2