VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2015

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 15 Oct 2015 13:38:24 -0400
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2311 bytes) , text/html (3529 bytes)
As a referee, I have to be very precise in the words that I use.  There can
be as many as 12 Black Bars that will score negative points.  You might
consider them all penalties, but only 4 of them are officially Penalty
objects.  What is the difference?  The Penalty objects have to stay on the
mat, but the robot can try to do things with the other Black Bars to make
them worth positive points.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Thursday, October 15, a team wrote:

> What about the black bars which are part of mission models, like
> demolition and toybox. If team fails to put them in sorter or trashbin on
> east side of mat, will there be seprate penalty? Or at any given time team
> can have maximum 4 penalty.
> Please clarify.
> Thanks
> On Oct 14, 2015 9:30 PM, "VA-DC Referee Advisor" <[log in to unmask]
> <javascript:_e(%7B%7D,'cvml',[log in to unmask]);>> wrote:
>
>> Yes, that's right.  See the "Penalties" description in the Missions
>>
>>    1.
>>
>>    Penalties – For each Penalty as described in Rule D09, the Ref will
>>    place one Black Bar on the Mat in a convenient out-of- the-way place, not
>>    to exceed four Bars. The Ref may shift them out of the Robot’s way as
>>    needed, but they must always stay in a negative scoring position.
>>
>> The referee will assess a maximum of four Interruption and Junk Penalties
>> on the Robot and Equipment in a match. After the maximum of four Black Bars
>> have been placed on the mat because of a Penalty, the team can rescue the
>> Robot by an Interruption without any additional scoring penalty.  Models
>> are still susceptible to being taken out of play because of an
>> Interruption, or because of Stranding.
>>
>>   The scoring value of each Black Bar placed as a penalty is Minus 8 per
>> Bar, as described in M04, Sorting.  The bars are no longer in their
>> original Setup position (which was off the mat with the Referee) and may
>> not be moved into a Green Bin or the Landfill.
>>
>> Steve Scherr
>> Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor.
>>
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2