Great question! This year's mission descriptions are nice in the way that
they highlight the constraints and the required conditions, but it's
sometimes hard to untangle what they mean when there are two possible
scores for the mission.
Here's what I think. We won't know for sure until there is either a
clarifying update, or the official scoring program comes out in October.
a) the color wheel has spun at least once (only by being pushed by the
slider) and you don't have the desired loop condition. 15 points
b) the color wheel has spun at least once and only the desired loop is no
longer touching the model. 60 points
Thinking Outside the Box
As described--these are clear to me.
a) The insert is installed in the chamber and is not being touched, and
the loop is still touching the model. 25 points
b) The insert is installed in the chamber and is not being touched, and
the loop is not touching the model as a result of movement of the slider.
** I expect to see discussion of what we mean by "installed"
a) The robot took an allowable shot, and the ball is not touching the mat
in the net. 30 points
b) The robot took an allowable shot, and the ball is touching the mat in
the net. 60 points
** I expect to see discussion of "Took a Shot"
a) The basket is in Base. You didn't make a copy of the model. 30 points
b) The basket is in Base, and a good copy of the model is in Base. 45
a) The team built a meaningful model and attached the two people to it.
The model is not touching the white circle around the scale. 20 points
b) The team built a meaningful model and attached the two people to it.
The model is touching the white circle around the scale and is not in
Base. 35 points
** I have it on very good authority that this is correct. (No, I didn't
read it that way myself at first, either.)
a) the yellow section is moved south, allowing the mechanism to drop into
place. 20 points.
b) The bonus for turning the pinwheel is in addition to the 20 points for
engaging the mechanism, but does not apply to that 20 points--it only
applies to the scores from the other missions.
As described--this is clear to me.
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Sun, Sep 7, 2014 at 6:50 PM, Frank Levine <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> Hi All,
> My team was brainstorming some ideas on the search engine mission today,
> and we ran across a scoring question:
> They want to know if they still get their 15 points for pressing the
> slider if, after they press the slider, they take out all of the loops. As
> we understand it, we wouldn't get any points for having the correct loop
> removed, but we would get the points for pressing the slider. Is this the
> correct interpretation?
> Frank Levine
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.