VADCFLL-L Archives

September 2016

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 14 Sep 2016 00:56:00 -0400
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (1329 bytes) , text/html (1934 bytes)
Yes, the team is always allowed to Interrupt the robot and bring it back to
Base.
One consequence is that there may be a (substantial) Penalty if they do.

But, different teams have different capabilities and goals.  Don't let the
fear of Venalities keep you from trying to do things.  If the team needs to
hand-carry the robot base to Base, but then is able to accomplish another
mission because of that, that means, in most cases, that the team gets more
points (and way more satisfaction) than from just doing nothing.

Yes, the highest-scoring teams and the most skilled programmers take pride
in having their robot navigate back completely in Base before Interrupting
it, and that is a worthwhile goal for all teams.

Sometimes the better strategy for a particular team is just to try as many
things as they can, and accepting a few Penalties may be part of that.
Remember, there are only five Penalty objects (disk manure), so there's a
limit on how many negative points may be scored by the team.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2