VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2015

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
"Thomas (Tweeks) Weeks" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Thomas (Tweeks) Weeks
Date:
Mon, 19 Oct 2015 15:30:19 +0000
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (3171 bytes) , text/html (5 kB)
I'm confused.. Are the undisturbed black bars really worth +8 points ea..

or just zero (non-negative) points?


Tweeks

________________________________
From: First Lego League in Virginia and DC <[log in to unmask]> on behalf of VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Sent: Friday, October 16, 2015 9:20 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Junk and Penalties

Yes, if the robot doesn't touch/disturb the non-penalty Black Bars, then they ought to be in their original setup position, and  they are worth +8 points each at the end of the match.  So are the Penalty object Black Bars, if the referee still has them.

There are 12 Black Bars that are part of the Field Setup (4 in the building, 4 with the Referee, 2 in the Sorter's red hopper, 2 in the Large Package.)  Each of them will be counted during scoring.  If you don't cause any of them to move, then they are worth +96 total.  If all four penalties are assessed, and you dump the rest in a pile in Base, then they are probably worth -96 points total.  M04 tells you what point value each has based on where it is at the end of the match.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Fri, Oct 16, 2015 at 9:58 AM, Bernie Goltermann <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>> wrote:
Regarding " black pieces (non-penalty pieces) still counted (against you) if they're in safety/base? Or is getting them to the landfill the only way to keep them from negatively impacting your score?"

I also see that it states under M04 - Sorting, Black bars are (bars score independently)... - Value 8 Per Bar part of a scoring Flower Box, or in their original Setup position.  "or in their original Setup position." seems to say if you don't touch the non-penalty black pieces, they don't count against you but for you. Is this right?

________________________________
From: VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>>
To: [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>
Sent: Thursday, October 15, 2015 4:14 PM

Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Junk and Penalties

A Black Bar that ends up in Safety/Base may still be counted as negative points during scoring.  It will be counted for negative points unless it meets one of the requirements of M04 Sorting that say that it will be scored as positive points.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

P.S.  Two of the four ways to have Black Bars scored for positive points won't be happening if they are in Safety....
________________________________
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2