VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2014

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 10 Nov 2014 15:54:00 -0500
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2101 bytes) , text/html (2717 bytes)
Let me provide an official response to Antony's question:

He asks: if the robot grabs the black reverse engineering basket containing
the original reverse engineering model and gets stuck outside Base carrying
the basket back to Base, can the team rescue the robot and get a Robot
Penalty?  The answer is Yes.  (Rules 43, 42, 26)

In addition, he asks--what happens to the basket with the original reverse
engineering model?
A)  does it go to Base with the Robot?  (No)
B)  does it get left on the field at the spot of the touch?  (No)
C)  does it get reset to its original position (No)

the correct result is
D)  The basket and contents are removed by the referee from the field, and
taken out of play.  No points can be earned for the Reverse Engineering
mission when this happens.

Why?
As Fredrik noted, since the robot is moving the basket, then the basket is
Cargo (Rule 16)
When you touch the robot and it has Cargo completely outside Base, then
there is a Cargo Penalty (Rule 44).  The penalty is that you lose the Cargo
that your robot picked up outside Base.


Analysis--
Is this a bad thing?  Your team has two choices--
1)  it may leave the robot where it is and not score any more points.
2)  it may rescue the robot and try to score more points.
Either way, the team doesn't score any points for Reverse Engineering, so
that shouldn't be a factor in deciding whether to rescue the robot or not.

Bottom line--your team gets three chances to earn its best single match
score.  That's all that counts.  Doing poorly in one match is okay, if it
allows you to learn and try stuff that helps you to earn more points in a
later match.
Our goal is for the teams to show us what they can do.  Not having the
robot do anything is only okay when the team doesn't have anything else
that it can do.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2