VADCFLL-L Archives

September 2008


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Stuart Roll <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Stuart Roll <[log in to unmask]>
Wed, 17 Sep 2008 09:04:08 -0700
text/plain (57 lines)
You clearly appreciate the subtleties of this part of the challenge.
Every year there is a cooperative or competitive element that straddles
both tables in a tournament setting.  Each year, the strategies for
dealing with them differ.

In previous years, for example, clever kids figured out that a model
that needed to be triggered from both sides could be triggered by a
single team reaching over the wall (both teams get the points anyway).
That kind of out-of-the-box thinking is encouraged in FLL and in real

To answer your question, though, either team or both can align the
arrows so there is clearly the opportunity for conflict/interference
between teams on this mission.  If the arrows are in alignment when the
round is over, both teams receive the points regardless of how they got
that way.

This year is definitely, as you put it, a "curious task".  Make sure
your kids wrestle with these questions (especially in relation to the
rules section titled "If A Detail Isn't Mentioned, Then It Doesn't

You do raise an interesting point relative to what happens if the
*other* team damages the arrows while trying to move them.  I hadn't
thought of that one but previous year's straddling models weren't
particularly fragile so it hasn't come up in practice that I know of.


-----Original Message-----
From: First Lego League Discussion
[mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Enit Kaduku
Sent: Wednesday, September 17, 2008 11:31 AM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Find Agreement (Align The Arrows) task...

What do they mean by "If one or BOTH robots" help in the video? Are they
talking about 2 teams sharing the same task? How and who decides WHICH
of the teams gets to the arrows first? If you are the first team, and
align them, how does that affect the second team? Do they even have to
bother, or they get the credit regardless? Conversely, if the first team
does something irreparable, like breaking the arrows, what happens to
second team? All this may not matter in the grand scheme of things, but
is a curious task.

Thank you.
Enit Lulushi

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SETTINGS, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit and select "Join or leave the list".