VADCFLL-L Archives

September 2008

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Phil Smith III <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Phil Smith III <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 17 Sep 2008 12:09:29 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (66 lines)
Read the Mission:

Before the match starts, the referee sets the yellow arrows in random disagreement. Alignment of both yellow arrows is worth 40 points for both teams, no matter which direction the alignment faces and no matter if one or both robots helped.

So it's up to the teams to figure it out. In past years when there was something like this, teams sometimes talked before the match to ask if the other team was even going to try (I forget which year it was, but there was one where BOTH teams had to do something to get points, so if the other team wasn't going to try, there was no point -- except for one team, who built an attachment that could do BOTH teams' parts!).

This is part of the lesson of FLL: dealing with real-world situations like this, where you don't have full control.

To answer your specific questions:

"What do they mean by 'If one or BOTH robots' help in the video?"
Just what it says.

"Are they talking about 2 teams sharing the same task?"
Yes, or one team doing it and the other not being involved.

"How and who decides WHICH one of the teams gets to the arrows first?"
The teams (or the robots!).

"If you are the first team, and you align them, how does that affect the second team?"
They get the points.

"Do they even have to bother, or they get the credit regardless?"
No.

"Conversely, if the first team does something irreparable, like breaking the arrows, what happens to the second team?"
They get no points.

This is actually a nice mission. Consider the three possibilities:
1) you think your robot is stronger than your opponent's
2) you think your robot is weaker than your opponent's
3) you think they're about the same (or you have no idea)

In all cases, there's no disadvantage to you in completing the mission, if you can!

--
Phil Smith III
Virginia State Judge Advisor, 2007
Judge Advisor, Northern Virginia Regional tournaments, 2006
Division 1 Judge Advisor, Virginia State tournament, 2006

Coach, The Capital Girls, Oak Hill (retired)
Team 1900 (2002)
Team 2497 (2003)
Team 2355 (2004)
Team 1945 (2005) 
-----Original Message-----
From: First Lego League Discussion [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Enit Kaduku
Sent: Wednesday, September 17, 2008 11:31 AM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Find Agreement (Align The Arrows) task...

What do they mean by "If one or BOTH robots" help in the video? Are they
talking about 2 teams sharing the same task? How and who decides WHICH one
of the teams gets to the arrows first? If you are the first team, and you
align them, how does that affect the second team? Do they even have to
bother, or they get the credit regardless? Conversely, if the first team
does something irreparable, like breaking the arrows, what happens to the
second team? All this may not matter in the grand scheme of things, but it
is a curious task.

______________________________________________________________
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SETTINGS, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

ATOM RSS1 RSS2