VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2008

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
David Levy <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
David Levy <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 13 Nov 2008 09:53:14 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (69 lines)
Maybe some example scenarios would be appropriate -

In the "testing the levees challenge" , robot has moved only partially 
out of base - robot is touched when:

1) still not yet reached the challenge model   (penalty ?)
2) challenge  model has been activated , and other end of robot is 
sitting on the challenge  model's activation bar ( penalty ?)
3) challenge  model has been activated, robot has moved off challenge  
model's activation bar  and  'heading' back  ( legal ?)

In  other missions where the robot has completely left base performed a 
mission and is returning to base - robot is  touched when:
4) robot is completely in base but still rolling  ( legal   )
5) robot is partially in base but still rolling  ( legal   )
6) robot is partially in base but it is bringing back a scoring object 
that is on a section of the robot that has not crossed over the home 
base line.  (penalty?)

thanks
David


Darlene Pantaleo wrote:
> Normally you can touch the robot while in base, but if you do it while 
> it is performing a mission, then the mission will not count. The new 
> rules allow for performing a mission without leaving the base. Sorry 
> for the confusion.
> Darlene Pantaleo
> Judge Advisor
> Maggie Walker
>
>
>
>
> On Nov 13, 2008, at 2:52 AM, Michael Blanpied wrote:
>
>> Dear Darlene,
>>
>>> The effect of the new rules is on what the robot can do while in 
>>> base. It does not effect a team's touching the robot except that a 
>>> mission will not count if done from base (such as the "test the 
>>> levees" challenge).
>>
>> I'm afraid I don't understand what that last phrase means. Under what 
>> circumstance would a mission not count? Thanks for clarifying.
>>
>> -- 
>> Cheers,
>> Mike Blanpied
>> Reston, VA
>> 2006 Nano People #4809
>> 2007 Power Bunnies #1666
>> 2008 BLT - Brilliant Lego Team #5013
>
> ______________________________________________________________ 
> ______________________________________________________________ To 
> UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SUBSCRIPTION, please visit 
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or 
> leave the list". If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list 
> - to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - 
> visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and 
> select "Join or leave the list". 

______________________________________________________________
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SETTINGS, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

ATOM RSS1 RSS2