most of what is being sent around is correct, but there are some
details that teams should keep in mind.
A) The Disinfect mission does not require that any bacteria be
brought to Base. It only asks if dispensers are empty.
B) There are 60 bacteria on the field, not 48. If any of those is
touching the mat outside Base at the end of the match, then the empty
dispensers are worth 7 points. If there are no bacteria touching the
mat outside Base, then the empty dispensers are worth 12 points.
C) In order to reduce the value of empty dispensers from 12 to 7,
then BOTH of these conditions must be true (1) there is one or more
bacteria touching the mat, and (2) the place where at least one of
those bacteria touch the mat is outside Base. There are many ways to
be sure that empty dispensers are worth 12 points. Two of those many
ways are to make sure that all bacteria are in Base, or to make sure
that no bacteria are on the mat.
For people who like to be precise, Rule 15 about Storage and Workspace
and Rule 8 about what is considered to be in Base DO apply for the
bacteria. [and yes, I am still planning to tell you to keep the
yellow bacteria on the field.]
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Thu, Oct 20, 2011 at 4:46 PM, Charles Aldridge <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> Mission Disinfect: Query where is there language that says bacteria must
> get to base for 12 points? The scoring condition is to empty dispenser(s).
> The score (point value) is either 7 points per empty dispenser if 1 or more
> of 48 bacteria are touching the mat OR 12 points per empty dispenser if no
> bacteria contacts the mat outside of base.
> Mission Hand Wash/Bacterial: contains a 'bring to base requirement'.
> Charlie Aldridge
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: Moenings
> To: [log in to unmask]
> Sent: Thursday, October 20, 2011 3:13 PM
> Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] pink bacteria mission?
> Do I understand the bacteria rule correctly? Between all the bacteria
> dispensers there are 48 bacteria. Each empty dispenser is 7 point and if
> they all make it to base they get 12 points per dispenser. However if 1
> bacteria hits the mat, they only get the 7 points. Is this 1 referring to 1
> of the 12, or 1 of the 48?
> On Thu, Oct 20, 2011 at 1:31 PM, VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
>> Yes, that is allowable this year. As long as part of the robot is in
>> Base, then the whole robot can be brought to Base and restarted
>> without a touch penalty.
>> There is no requirement this year that a robot be completely outside
>> of Base to make changes on the field.
>> Steve Scherr
>> VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.