Rookie parent/team manager here. Our team has made a back up robot,
complete with another brick in it just in case the first one breaks
down. My question is, can we bring this in a cart and park it next to
the table so that the kids do not have to run all the way to the pit
to retrieve it if the first one does break down? Or is that considered
an immediate DQ?
On Oct 20, 2011, at 6:08 PM, Stephen Scherr wrote:
> Hi folks,
> most of what is being sent around is correct, but there are some
> details that teams should keep in mind.
> A) The Disinfect mission does not require that any bacteria be
> brought to Base. It only asks if dispensers are empty.
> B) There are 60 bacteria on the field, not 48. If any of those is
> touching the mat outside Base at the end of the match, then the empty
> dispensers are worth 7 points. If there are no bacteria touching the
> mat outside Base, then the empty dispensers are worth 12 points.
> C) In order to reduce the value of empty dispensers from 12 to 7,
> then BOTH of these conditions must be true (1) there is one or more
> bacteria touching the mat, and (2) the place where at least one of
> those bacteria touch the mat is outside Base. There are many ways to
> be sure that empty dispensers are worth 12 points. Two of those many
> ways are to make sure that all bacteria are in Base, or to make sure
> that no bacteria are on the mat.
> For people who like to be precise, Rule 15 about Storage and Workspace
> and Rule 8 about what is considered to be in Base DO apply for the
> bacteria. [and yes, I am still planning to tell you to keep the
> yellow bacteria on the field.]
> Steve Scherr
> VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
> On Thu, Oct 20, 2011 at 4:46 PM, Charles Aldridge
> <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>> Mission Disinfect: Query where is there language that says
>> bacteria must
>> get to base for 12 points? The scoring condition is to empty
>> The score (point value) is either 7 points per empty dispenser if 1
>> or more
>> of 48 bacteria are touching the mat OR 12 points per empty
>> dispenser if no
>> bacteria contacts the mat outside of base.
>> Mission Hand Wash/Bacterial: contains a 'bring to base requirement'.
>> Charlie Aldridge
>> ----- Original Message -----
>> From: Moenings
>> To: [log in to unmask]
>> Sent: Thursday, October 20, 2011 3:13 PM
>> Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] pink bacteria mission?
>> Do I understand the bacteria rule correctly? Between all the
>> dispensers there are 48 bacteria. Each empty dispenser is 7 point
>> and if
>> they all make it to base they get 12 points per dispenser. However
>> if 1
>> bacteria hits the mat, they only get the 7 points. Is this 1
>> referring to 1
>> of the 12, or 1 of the 48?
>> On Thu, Oct 20, 2011 at 1:31 PM, VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]
>>> Yes, that is allowable this year. As long as part of the robot is
>>> Base, then the whole robot can be brought to Base and restarted
>>> without a touch penalty.
>>> There is no requirement this year that a robot be completely outside
>>> of Base to make changes on the field.
>>> Steve Scherr
>>> VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html
> and select "Join or leave the list".
> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-
> ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html
> to subscribe.
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.