VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2011

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 28 Oct 2011 21:45:47 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (54 lines)
Rule 18 tells what happens when you touch the robot or its cargo.  It
includes a Warning: "Avoid touching a robot entering Base until its
cargo has also reached Base!"

The bottom line is that the team will usually not want to touch the
robot or its cargo until the robot itself and each of its cargo items
have crossed into Base.

The position of each item is determined independently (Rule 21) and
cargo that has not crossed into Base may be lost (Rule 18).

There are also several Robot Game Updates that give more details on
specific cases:
Update 24, Multi-part models, tells us that the yellow farm truck and
its contents are treated as a single object--if one is in Base, then
all are in Base.  Similarly the white refrigerated trailer and its
contents are treated as a single object for entering Base.
Update 25, Bacteria Cluster Entering Base, tells us that distinct
continuous clusters of bacteria will be treated as one object for
purposes of entering Base.  It also reminds us that this doesn't apply
to other mission models.

Update 30, from this week, doesn't talk about Base, but it does give
some examples about when a mission model is cargo.

Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Fri, Oct 28, 2011 at 6:23 PM, Sonya Shaver <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> Hello,
> Can I ask a question to clarify when you can touch the robot when it returns
> to base in between programs?
> In past years, the team could grab the robot as soon as a portion of the
> robot had clearly entered base.  But I think I read something in a question
> on this list about cargo needing to be in base too.  So, can you clarify
> about that?  For example, if the robot has an attachment that has grabbed
> some item off the table to bring it back to base, then when the robot comes
> back to base, once a part of the robot has clearly entered base, can the
> team member still grab the robot?  Even if the cargo is still out of base,
> but is attached to the attachment on the robot?  Am I being clear?
> Thanks,
> Sonya in Harrisonburg
> ________________________________
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
> subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.

ATOM RSS1 RSS2