Keying off two parts of this description, I would assume that the
referee would NOT call the rat in Base:
(a) it "never really enters base"
(b) it is "hanging over the south wall"
Base is a volume that extends to the inside surface of the border
walls (Rule 8), so items that are entirely over the wall or outside
the wall would not be considered in Base.
The first phrase indicates that the rat never even passed through
Base, so there isn't much room for benefit of the doubt that the team
was just slightly late in touching the robot.
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Wed, Nov 2, 2011 at 6:00 AM, Michael Brown <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> Our team is going for both rats, the attachments just bearly fit in base.
> On the return trip the far rat never really enters base it is hanging over
> the south wall. I am assuming that a ref would call that in, but wanted a
> ruling just in case I was wrong.
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.