VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2012

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 3 Nov 2012 22:24:56 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (63 lines)
Hi folks,
  the quantity limits for the Robot Game are explicitly listed in Rule
4, Equipment.

1 Controller:
CONTROLLERS - You are allowed a maximum of one controller in the
competition area in any one match.

Yes, you may switch controllers (bricks) between matches.  Just don't
bring the extra ones to the competition table.

3 Motors:
MOTORS - You are allowed a maximum of three MINDSTORMS motors in the
competition area.

1 Robot:
You may not use more than one robot in any one match, but itís okay to
use a different robot in a different match.

[Rule 12 defines the robot.  It's the controller and anything attached
to it.  So this limit is the same as "one controller".]


When I have been a Robot Design judge, I've been interested in hearing
what the team has to tell me about their design (all phases, all
parts).  I wouldn't have any issues with seeing multiple
robots/controllers.  Your mileage may vary, of course, but I agree
that it supports the Design Process part of the rubric
(http://firstlegoleague.org/sites/default/files/Challenge/Combined%20Rubrics.pdf)


In answer to Gina's question, I've seen many teams who build different
"chassis" for their robot brain, and transfer the controller from one
to another during a match.  This is quite fine (only one controller),
as long as the limit on motors is obeyed.  (No more than three in a
match.)

Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor


> From: First Lego League in Virginia and DC
> [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of [log in to unmask]
> Sent: Saturday, November 03, 2012 11:21 AM
> To: [log in to unmask]
> Subject: [VADCFLL-L] Robot question
>
>
>
> Are we allowed to use 2 different robots that share a brain and just change
> out the brain during competition?
>
> If so, will that hurt us during the robot judging phase?
>
> Thanks.
>
> Gina Willett
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.

ATOM RSS1 RSS2