this is a really good question, and your team could be finding Rule
27, Bullet 4, kind of confusing: "Scoring: When a mission is
required to be achieved through a specific method, but is achieved by
some other method, it is marked scoreless."
For a mission like Bowling, since there are multiple things that can
happen that are worth points, we look at each of those things
This is emphasized in the Bowling mission's description of Method
"each pinís fall must be caused by impact from a completely loose and
independent ball (not touching or guided by anything at the time of
impact) or another loose/independent pin. Pins falling for any other
reason are worth 0."
So, in your example, the 4 pins that were knocked down
appropriately are all worth points. If pins are knocked down in an
unallowable manner, then only those pins are not counted--all the
others that are down are counted.
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Thu, Nov 8, 2012 at 4:24 PM, Savita Sethi <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> We have one more question on the pins and I apologize if this has been
> answered already. But the team wants to know if the first try from ball
> ofcourse knocks 4 pins down and while the robot is moving to next mission or
> coming back to base, it knocks down one or two more pins by accident, will
> the team still get the points for the 4 pins that fell because of the ball.
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.