As stated, the answer is no.
The yellow shelf loops (and other mission models that the robot picks
up outside of base) may not be brought to base through a robot rescue.
Rule 20 on Touch Penalties discusses what happens when the team
touches the robot or its cargo:
20 - TOUCH PENALTIES (this rule is about what happens when you touch the robot)
• If you touch the active robot or anything it’s touching while its
CARGO is outside Base:
- if the robot had the cargo the most recent time the robot was
in Base, the cargo goes back to Base.
- otherwise the ref keeps the cargo.
So, a yellow loop that the robot picks up is Cargo. If the team
touches the robot to bring it back to Base, then there's a touch
penalty on the robot for being completely outside of Base, plus the
yellow loop is taken out of play by the referee, since it was
completely outside of Base, too. Since the ref has the yellow loop,
it won't be in Base or count for any points at the end of the match.
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Sat, Nov 10, 2012 at 4:34 PM, Brady Hoak <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> After the robot has picked up one of shelf cone rings, can you pick up the robot up manually and return it to base and still getvthe points for that mission, minus a penalty for picking up the robot?
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.