Correct. That is our understanding of the rules and the refs who have tested or used our scorer have been in agreement.
Pulling the Black Bars to safety does not change the "Black bars are elsewhere on the mat" condition. Yes, once the demolition is down, you lose the +8 per Black bar in Original position AND you get penalty of -8 per bar for Black Bars elsewhere (even if you drag them into Safety).
You must do something else with the Black Bars (put them in a bin, for example) to not get the penalty for Black bars being "elsewhere". For example, if the team put the black bars in a bin, they follow a different scoring condition and you will get points for bars being in a matching bin.
Hope this helps
Sanjay and Arvind
On Tue, 10 Nov 2015 13:47:21 +0000, Arun Manroa <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>Thanks Sanjay and Arvind @ EV3Lessons,
>On the Demolition part, if the Black bars are pulled into Safety and the
>team does nothing with them, do they still get penalized -8 per Black Bar.
>Form your explanation of the rules it seems it seems the net penalty is -16
>per Black Bar as soon as the Building is demolished, even if the 4 black
>bars are pulled into safety.
>96 (-32) + 85 (-32)
>On Tue, Nov 10, 2015, 08:10 EV3 Lessons <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>> Thanks to everyone who confirmed that the EV3Lessons Trash Trek Scorer is
>> working accurately.
>> As Coach Levine requested, here is a summary of any questions sent to us
>> by email:
>> 1) The 4 black bars with the ref are also part of the game - you can get
>> "bars in original position" for them and you can get "bars elsewhere"
>> because of them (if you get a penalty).
>> 2) The truck must have the yellow bin on it AND the truck with the bin on
>> it must be east of the guide rail at the end of the game to get BOTH sets
>> of points for that mission.
>> 3) Black bars from demolition are worth 8 pts each when in original
>> position. When you knock it down, you lose those 8 pts each in original
>> position and (unless you sort those bars into a bin), you also get
>> penalized -8 pts each for "black bars elsewhere" So, if your team does
>> only demolition, it is worth 85pts. Your NET score after demolition will be
>> 117pts instead of 96pts before knocking them down. Please note that the net
>> gain from demolition is not a lot of points unless you do something with
>> those black bars.)
>> 4) All teams have 96 pts to start with: 12 Black Bars X 8 Pts each in
>> original position.
>> We will be at the Woodbridge tournament on Nov. 21st to cheer for
>> friends. If you see us in the audience, please come say hello.
>> Sanjay and Arvind
>> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
>> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
>> leave the list".
>> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via
>> VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit
>> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to
>-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
>-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.