VADCFLL-L Archives

September 2016

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
"Swayne, Nick - swaynedd" <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Swayne, Nick - swaynedd
Date:
Mon, 12 Sep 2016 19:50:54 +0000
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (59 lines)
Cathy,

Watch out for You Tube videos - they are often used to demonstrate cool designs or prototypes but the robots/procedures used don't necessary conform to the rules of the game.  https://firstinspiresst01.blob.core.windows.net/fll/animal-allies-challenge-guide.pdf

Some specific rules you might refer to:

R10 - Handling During the Match
* You are not allowed to interact with any part of the Field that's not COMPLETELY in Base.
Except: You may Interrupt the Robot any time.
Except: You may pick up Equipment that broke off the Robot unintentionally, anywhere, any
time.
* You are not allowed to cause anything to move or extend over the Base line, even partly.
Except: Of course, you may Launch the Robot.
Except: You may move/handle/Store things off the Field, any time.
Except: If something accidentally crosses the Base line, just calmly take it back - no
problem.
* Anything the Robot affects (good or bad!) or puts completely outside Base stays as is unless
the Robot changes it. Nothing is ever repositioned so you can "try again."


R14 - Interrupting - If you Interrupt the Robot, you must stop it immediately, *then calmly pick
it up for a re-Launch (*if you intend one). Here's what happens to the Robot and any object it
was Transporting, depending on where each was at the time:
* Robot
o Completely in Base: Re-Launch
o NOT completely in Base: Re-Launch + Penalty
* Transported Object
o Completely in Base: Keep it
o NOT completely in Base: Give it to the Ref

PENALTIES - Before the match starts, the Ref removes five Manure Samples from Base, and
holds on to them, leaving five still there. If you Interrupt the Robot, the Ref places one of the
removed Samples in the white triangle, in the southeast, as a permanent/untouchable
Interruption Penalty. You can get up to five such penalties, worth Minus 6 Points Each

-----Original Message-----
From: First Lego League in Virginia and DC [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Cathy Abi-Khattar
Sent: Monday, September 12, 2016 3:20 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: [VADCFLL-L] picking up your robot

Hi
We are a rookie teaming with a question about the robot returning to base. 
 
If the robot goes out and completes a mission, does the robot have to maneuver back to base too or can it stop where it is (like in front of the panda area) and the team member at the table can pick it up and bring it back to base. We have seen videos on YouTube with robots programmed to come back and ones were a team member picks up the robot after it ends a mission and puts it back in base to start the next series of missions.  

Thank you
Cathy 
 
[log in to unmask]

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.

ATOM RSS1 RSS2