The answer to Chao's question is "no".

It doesn't matter whether the yellow bin gets dumped off the truck at the end of the guide or not.  This mission doesn't care about the details of what happens in the middle of the match, it only cares about the physical condition of the field when the match ends.

For example, what if the yellow bin were dumped off the truck?  How could the team get it (and its weight) back on the truck, and have the truck completely east of the guide?  

What if the robot picked up the bin and loaded it back on the truck?
What if the robot moved the truck and bin to some other place where the bin could slide back onto the truck?

The robot is allowed to change things during the match.  One really fun thing about FLL is to get to a point where you say "this cannot happen" and then to think of how to make it happen some other way.  Sometimes it's impractical or really hard, but sometimes you get inspired and figure out something clever and devilishly simple.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Thu, Oct 8, 2015 at 11:14 PM, Chao Wei <[log in to unmask]> wrote:


I am quite puzzled by "scoring both" for transport In order for the truck supporting all of the yellow bin's weight AND the yellow bin east of the guide, it seems that the yellow bin cannot be dumped in the end. Otherwise we cannot see the truck support all the weight at the end of the match.

Is my understanding correct?


 • Value: 50 The Truck supports all of the Yellow
 Bin’s weight.
 • Value: 60 The Yellow Bin is completely east of the
 Truck’s Guide.

On Thu, 10/8/15, VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

 Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Transport
 To: [log in to unmask]
 Date: Thursday, October 8, 2015, 3:43 PM

 The two physical requirements, and the two
 scores are independent from each other.  The mission says
 "Score one or both".

 On Thu, Oct 8, 2015 at
 11:35 AM, Lord Of The Bricks
 <[log in to unmask]>

 I have a question about the transport
 mission.  The rules state,

 M03 – Transport – The distance a discarded material
 may need to travel is an important part of the equation when
 what to do with that material.
 ●● Basic Mission Description: Load the all-Yellow
 Material Bin onto the Truck to be transported
 ●● Specific physical requirement, visible at the
 end of the match (score one or both):
 • Value: 50 The Truck supports all of the Yellow
 Bin’s weight.
 • Value: 60 The Yellow Bin is completely east of the
 Truck’s Guide.

 My confusions is that both requirements are
 "visible at the end of the match."  If You have
 gotten the truck east of the guide via the track, then the
 yellow bin will have fallen off the truck at the end of the
 guide, as designed.  How, then, can both
  conditions be true at the same time (unless, as my team has
 pondered, that we back-track up the guide, and move around

 Shari Robinson
 Head Coach
 Lord of the Bricks Robotics
 FIRST Tech Challenge Team 7039
 FIRST Lego League Team 9076
 Jr. FIRST Lego League Team 933

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.