I am saddened that *FIRST *FLL has a mission that will encourage collision and conflict. I was shocked when I fully understood the ramifications of this mission. What happened to collaboration? What happened to “Gracious Professionalism & Coopertition”? I believe there is enough conflict in the world. Peggy Morgan *Walker-Jones EC * *Washington, D.C.* On Tue, Nov 5, 2019 at 4:40 PM VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]> wrote: > Yes, two Robots might collide while they are both on the Bridge. No, > there is not a gap to make the Robots avoid colliding -- "It is okay and > expected for Robots to collide while trying to earn Flag points." > > I don't know if most teams have designed their Robots to be able to > climb the Bridge. If so, then we'll probably see some collisions. I'll > know more after this weekend's tournaments. > > For the other questions, please remember that your Team will get at least > 3 tries to earn their highest score. (see Rule 37) That's one way that FLL > evens out the good/bad luck that may affect a single Match. > > Question: What if a Robot's attachment prevents the other Robot from > reaching the top? > Answer: > > - Then the other Robot doesn't reach the top. > - The other Robot may still get points for being Supported by the > Bridge. It could score Flag points, but it probably won't since it > wouldn't have gone as far up the Bridge as its Team wanted it to go. > > > Question : What happens if a Robot's attachment is damaged by a collision > and they don't have adequate time to fix it before the next run? > Answer : > > - If a Robot is damaged by a collision with another Robot, that's just > bad luck for that Match. The team is allowed to retrieve the broken > pieces. (Rule 22) > - Most tournaments will typically have 30 minutes or more between a > team's matches, so there is time available. (But, your team might also > have to go to a judging session, which shortens the available time for > repairs.) > - If your Robot has an attachment that is very delicate and hard to > rebuild, then your Team might want to change their design to be more > robust.. > - If there's a catastrophe affecting your Robot before your match, > then your Team can talk to the your Table Referee, the Head Referee, etc. > There may be some limited options they can use. > > Steve Scherr > Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor > > On Tue, Nov 5, 2019 at 12:53 PM Shyamala Chikkam < > [log in to unmask]> wrote: > >> Hello, >> >> I have some questions about the bridge mission. >> >> If a Robot has a front attachment then it could potentially collide with >> the other team's Robot when it gets to the top of the bridge. >> >> What if a Robot's attachment prevents the other Robot from reaching the >> top? What happens if a Robot's attachment is damaged by a collision and >> they don't have adequate time to fix it before the next run? >> >> Will there be sufficient gap between the 2 Robots on the bridge to avoid >> this situation? >> >> Thanks, >> Shyamala >> > ------------------------------ > To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit > https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or > leave the list". > VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. > Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to > subscribe. -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list". -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.