I don't agree with your points 1 and 2. The point of the mission
is to give the storm a chance to batter the levees. Actions are
precluded if they prevent the storm from doing so. If the storm is a
wimpy one that rolls through a gap, that's the storm's fault, not the
1. Ruling 17 says that the storm wheel must be allowed to
hit or miss the levees. If it rolls through a gap, then it has missed.
At that point it no longer matters whether it later coasts to a stop,
hits the wall, veers off down the table, or hits a strategic
2. Pre-existing levees are not strategic objects. Thus, the storm
is not "strategically blocked" if it hits a pre-existing
levee. (In fact, part of the point is that the storm likely WILL hit
one of those levees, in the absence of clever action on the part of
the team, and may cost the team five points in so doing. In that case
the team gains 15 points for the storm and loses 5 points for the
fallen levee, a net gain of 10 points.)
And remember, when it comes to counting levee points, the only
thing that matters is which ones are standing, and on what color of
low-lying shore, at the end of the match. How the levees ended up
there is completely up to the team; since there's nothing said about
that, anything goes, anything at all.
I'm still a bit unclear on the "test
levees" mission and thought I'd get the opinion of this group. The
mission description and latest rule updates (from the Q&A) are as
Mission: See how levees survive
when a storm approaches (activate the wheel-roller). The wheel must be
allowed to roll freely until it either hits or misses the levees. The
activation is worth 15 points whether the levees are hit or missed,
but worth no points if the wheel is strategically blocked by anything
other than released levees near or past the green shore.
RULING 17 - Levee Blocking
Nothing new here; just re-stating based
on questions: 1) The storm wheel must be allowed to "hit or miss"
levies, so the robot can't tamper with the thrower's operation (If
I throw a baseball at the moon, of course it won't hit the moon, but
did I miss? No!---My arm was too wimpy to give me the chance to miss),
and 2) The only levee blocks allowed to block the wheel are those far
enough away from the thrower as to be considered "near" the shores
by the referee. Make them obviously closer than half way if you want a
favorable call from the ref.
RULING 19 - Levee Blocking
A strategic object in the pink grid area
is not a problem if the wheel never hits it. So if you're
reinforcing your delivered levies with a strategic object, make sure
the levies themselves are still what the storm would hit, and you'll
be all set.
The question is on the interpretation of
the phrase "worth no points if the wheel is strategically blocked by
anything other than released levees". Here's how I interpret
The wheel rolls through a gap in the levees and is eventually stopped
by the wall of the competition table: 0 Points, the wheel was blocked
by something other than a "released levee" (but was it
"strategically blocked" ??).
The wheel is blocked by one of the three pre-existing levees that were
in place at the start of the round: 0 Points, the rule says only
"released" levees are allowed to block it (I presume that means ones
that the robot has placed there?).
The wheel coasts to a stop without running into anything: 15
If I understand the gist of this
challenge, it's to "release" the levees in such a manner that
they stop the "storm" (wheel).
Does this sound right??:
UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SUBSCRIPTION, please visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join
or leave the list". If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L
mailing list - to which FLL administrative announcements will be
distributed - visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select
"Join or leave the list".