Print

Print


It's a judgement call by the refs as to whether it's intentional or not. If the robot goes to lift it, the sample wedges in the hole, and the robot pulls the ring apart, that's (probably) not going to be ruled intentional. If, OTOH, you bring the ring back to base, open it, and then deliver it open for some reason, that's clearly intentional damage.

Everything else is somewhere on the spectrum...
-- 
Phil Smith III
Virginia State Judge Advisor, 2007, 2008
Judge Advisor, Northern Virginia Regional tournaments, 2006
Division 1 Judge Advisor, Virginia State tournament, 2006

Coach, The Capital Girls, Oak Hill (retired)
Team 1900 (2002)
Team 2497 (2003)
Team 2355 (2004)
Team 1945 (2005)
-----Original Message-----
From: First Lego League Discussion [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Lloyd O'Hara
Sent: Saturday, November 08, 2008 5:46 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Red Ice Core Ring Question

just a guess but I think that would come under the heading of intentional 
field damage.
----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Sean Paus" <[log in to unmask]>
To: <[log in to unmask]>
Sent: Saturday, November 08, 2008 4:41 PM
Subject: [VADCFLL-L] Red Ice Core Ring Question

> Is there a penalty for breaking the red ring that surrounds the ice
> core sample when retrieving the ice core sample?  I have not found
> anything that says one way or the other.

______________________________________________________________
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE YOUR SETTINGS, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

If you want to join the VADCFLL-ADMIN-L mailing list - to which FLL administrative announcements will be distributed - visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".