I think the way you phrased your question
reveals a problem with how you are viewing the scoring.
"Identification" and "Destruction" are NOT
(ultimately) actions that the robot takes, they are ways of labeling the state
of the cell model at the end of the match.
At the end of the match if any black panels are
facing south, you don't score. If none face south but some face up then
you get the score for "Identification". If they all face north you get the
score for "Destruction".
The rules do allow judgment calls by the referee
but that would be fairly unlikely due to the design of the model. If your
robot flips the last panel north right when the buzzer sounds the referee will
decide what the official position is for scoring. Likewise if you happen
to get the panel stuck facing mostly north but not all the way.
Referees are supposed to give the team the benefit of the doubt in close
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Question @ the mission
That's a great question and I do not know the answer off the top of my
head. Being young, our team has decided to not try the bad cell mission so
I have not paid any attention. My gut feel would be that you would still
get the points because in order to destroy you have to be able to identify
first. However, I don't know. I'm hoping somebody on the listserv
can answer and if they can't, chek in the FLL forums and/or send an email to
Scott to see what the official ruling would be.
Have you checked the rules and game rulings: http://firstlegoleague.org/media/twocol.aspx?id=247.
Also, a quick check of the mission shows a picture that would indicate what a
"identify" score setup should look like at the end of the match.
Take a look and see what you think. Also, make sure to check elsewhere
(listserv, forums, Scott Evans, game rullings) to get an official answer.
Lloyd, > >I've also got a question. > >I am wondering
about the bad cell mission. What if time runs out after identification
>is complete and destruction is only 50% complete? Does that mean
you still get >the identification points or no points because at the
point time ran out-the cells >are in neither correct position (for
destruction)? > >Thanks, > >Shom > >
On Tue, Sep 28, 2010 at 9:03 AM, Lloyd O'Hara <[log in to unmask]> wrote: > >solid
rgb(204, 204, 204); padding-left: 1ex;">
They can be taken one at a time or both at the same time. It does
not matter, >as long as they are in the patient area when time runs
One of my students brought up an interesting question. One of the mission
is > >>to take both the nurse and bio-engineer to the patient
area - so for full >points >>both should be in the patient
The question was - can they be taken one by one - or do they need to be
taken > >>both together at the same time. Does it matter -
since at the end of the >2.5 minutes >>if both are in the
patient area - the team would get full points for that >mission.