No--each object that the robot retrieves from the field has to cross into Base itself before the team members may pick it up.
Under Rule 22, Touch Penalties, it says:
If you touch the active robot or anything it’s touching while: a piece of CARGO is outside Base, you lose that piece of cargo, unless it was with the robot the last time the robot left Base.
Also, Rule 18, Handling Not Allowed says: You may not move or adjust anything outside Base, before, during, or after the match.
For the situation you described, the doctor (nurse) is a piece of CARGO (rule 14--the robot has it for transport). That figure needs to cross into base (some part of it over the boundary line), or else the referee will take it off the field and out of play when the team touches the robot.
There is one exception this year--when any part of the syringe crosses into base, then the team may take the entire syringe, and the red and white blood cells it is carrying into Base. (see the Mission description)
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Oct 17, 2010, at 9:17 PM, Viquar Shaikh wrote:
My question is regarding the nurse in base. When the robot grabs the nurse and comes back to base, is it sufficient that the robot is in base, while the nurse - still in the robot's grasp - is outside the base. Can the kids then pick up the nurse from outside the base??
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.