Viquar,
  This is a good question and will help to clarify a couple of things.

1)  Attachment vs Robot -- For our purposes, the robot is the NXT or RCX
controller and everything the team connects to it ("connected" is defined in
Rule 13).  An attachment is something that the team builds and connects to
the "main" robot sometime before or during the match.  While the attachment
and the main robot are connected to each other, the attachment is part of
the robot.  So, if the robot has a grabber arm to go pick up something from
the field, and part of the grabber arm crosses the boundary of Base, then
there is no touch penalty to bring the entire robot into Base.

2)  Touching Objects in Base--If the robot has an attachment or other object
and pushes it into Base and then the robot separates from it, then the
attachment or object is not part of the robot.  The team may touch the
attachment or object and bring it entirely into Base (rule 17--Handling
Allowed).  But, once the team touches the object it must be brought
completely into Base or the storage area, and must not be made to extend out
of Base by hand (Rule 18, bullet 1, with limited exception for temporary
storage.)

For your question, I assume that you meant that the attachment is connected
to the robot, and is controlling the nurse figure.  Then, yes, when the
figure and the attachment cross into Base, then the nurse figure and the
robot should both be brought completely into Base, and there is no touch
penalty.


Special Case:  if the nurse is being transported by the robot, and the nurse
crosses into Base, but no part of the robot is in Base, and the team touches
the nurse, then Rule 22 says that there is a touch penalty, because the
robot (including connecting attachments) has to cross into Base itself to
avoid the penalty.  This is unlikely to happen, but it's the kind of thing
the referees try to prepare for in advance.....

Steve

On Mon, Oct 18, 2010 at 8:37 AM, Viquar Shaikh <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Stephen
>
> Thanks for the clarification.
>
> This brings up another question. In the scenario that the nurse is in base
> along with the attachment that the robot used - but the robot is out of base
> - that should be OK - correct? since any part of the robot along with the
> attachments it started out with enters base - the kids can handle it.
>
> Thanks again.
> Viquar
>
>   On Sun, Oct 17, 2010 at 9:33 PM, Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]>wrote:
>
>> Viquar,
>>   No--each object that the robot retrieves from the field has to cross
>> into Base itself before the team members may pick it up.
>>
>>  Under Rule 22, Touch Penalties,  it says:
>>   If you touch the active robot or anything itís touching while:  a piece
>> of CARGO is outside Base, you lose that piece of cargo, unless it was with
>> the robot the last time the robot left Base.
>>
>> Also, Rule 18, Handling Not Allowed says:  You may not move or adjust
>> anything outside Base, before, during, or after the match.
>>
>>    For the situation you described, the doctor (nurse) is a piece of CARGO
>> (rule 14--the robot has it for transport).  That figure needs to cross into
>> base (some part of it over the boundary line), or else the referee will take
>> it off the field and out of play when the team touches the robot.
>>
>>   There is one exception this year--when any part of the syringe crosses
>> into base, then the team may take the entire syringe, and the red and white
>> blood cells it is carrying into Base.  (see the Mission description)
>>
>> Steve Scherr
>> VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
>>
>>   On Oct 17, 2010, at 9:17 PM, Viquar Shaikh wrote:
>>
>>   Hello
>>
>> My question is regarding the nurse in base. When the robot grabs the nurse
>> and comes back to base, is it sufficient that the robot is in base, while
>> the nurse - still in the robot's grasp - is outside the base. Can the kids
>> then pick up the nurse from outside the base??
>>
>> Thanks
>> Viquar
>> Team #8637
>> ------------------------------
>> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
>> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
>> leave the list".
>> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
>> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
>>
>>
>> ------------------------------
>> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
>> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
>> leave the list".
>> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
>> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
>
>
>
>
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.