No--each object that the robot retrieves from the field has to cross
>into Base itself before the team members may pick it up.
Under Rule 22, Touch Penalties, it says:
If you touch the active robot or anything itís touching while: a
>piece of CARGO is outside Base, you lose that piece of cargo, unless it was with
>the robot the last time the robot left Base.
Also, Rule 18, Handling Not Allowed says: You may not move or adjust anything
>outside Base, before, during, or after the match.
For the situation you described, the doctor (nurse) is a piece
>of CARGO (rule 14--the robot has it for transport). That figure needs to cross
>into base (some part of it over the boundary line), or else the referee will take
>it off the field and out of play when the team touches the robot.
There is one exception this year--when any part of the syringe crosses
>into base, then the team may take the entire syringe, and the red and white blood
>cells it is carrying into Base. (see the Mission description)
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Oct 17, 2010, at 9:17 PM, Viquar Shaikh wrote:
My question is regarding the nurse in base. When the robot grabs the nurse and
>comes back to base, is it sufficient that the robot is in base, while the nurse
>- still in the robot's grasp - is outside the base. Can the kids then pick up the
>nurse from outside the base??
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html
and select "Join or leave the list".
>VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html