Print

Print


I didn't see the earlier post if there was one but I assume your table is
level too.  That could affect how far the syringe rolls.

Just a thought.

Matt

On Mon, Oct 18, 2010 at 1:30 PM, <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

>  Hi Steve,
>
> Regarding the final item in your reply, the syringe on our practice table
> usually penetrates into the base by just 1 to 2 inches.  I have verified
> that all the wheels spin smoothly and the ramp is built correctly.
>
> Given potential variations in competition tables and models, how will
> referees handle syringes that fall just short of the base?  Give benefit of
> the doubt and allow the kids to grab the syringe so that they can screen the
> red / white blood cells?
>
> Thanks,
>
> Wally Walter
> Co-coach, Lake Anne Sea Monsters
>
> Oct 17, 2010 09:33:36 PM, [log in to unmask] wrote:
>
> >
> >after-white-space; ">Viquar,
> No--each object that the robot retrieves from the field has to cross
> >into Base itself before the team members may pick it up.
>
> >
> Under Rule 22, Touch Penalties, it says:
> If you touch the active robot or anything itís touching while: a
> >piece of CARGO is outside Base, you lose that piece of cargo, unless it
> was with
> >the robot the last time the robot left Base.
>
> >
> Also, Rule 18, Handling Not Allowed says: You may not move or adjust
> anything
> >outside Base, before, during, or after the match.
>
> >
> For the situation you described, the doctor (nurse) is a piece
> >of CARGO (rule 14--the robot has it for transport). That figure needs to
> cross
> >into base (some part of it over the boundary line), or else the referee
> will take
> >it off the field and out of play when the team touches the robot.
>
> >
> There is one exception this year--when any part of the syringe crosses
> >into base, then the team may take the entire syringe, and the red and
> white blood
> >cells it is carrying into Base. (see the Mission description)
>
> >
> Steve Scherr
> VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
>
> >
> On Oct 17, 2010, at 9:17 PM, Viquar Shaikh wrote:
>
> >
> >
> Hello
>  My question is regarding the nurse in base. When the robot grabs the
> nurse and
> >comes back to base, is it sufficient that the robot is in base, while the
> nurse
> >- still in the robot's grasp - is outside the base. Can the kids then pick
> up the
> >nurse from outside the base??
>  Thanks
> Viquar
> Team #8637
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> >VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
>
>
> >
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> >VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
>



-- 
"There are two hard problems in computer science: cache invalidation, naming
things, and off-by-one errors."
--Unattributed

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.