I didn't see the earlier post if there was one but I assume your table is level too. †That could affect how far the syringe rolls.

Just a thought.

Matt

On Mon, Oct 18, 2010 at 1:30 PM, <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Hi Steve,
Regarding the final item in your reply, the syringe on our practice table usually penetrates into the base by just 1 to 2 inches.† I have verified that all the wheels spin smoothly and the ramp is built correctly.
Given potential variations in competition tables and models, how will referees handle syringes that fall just short of the base?† Give benefit of the doubt and allow the kids to grab the syringe so that they can screen the red / white blood cells?
Thanks,
Wally Walter
Co-coach, Lake Anne Sea Monsters

Oct 17, 2010 09:33:36 PM, [log in to unmask] wrote:
>
>after-white-space; ">Viquar,
No--each object that the robot retrieves from the field has to cross
>into Base itself before the team members may pick it up.

>
Under Rule 22, Touch Penalties, it says:
If you touch the active robot or anything itís touching while: a
>piece of CARGO is outside Base, you lose that piece of cargo, unless it was with
>the robot the last time the robot left Base.

>
Also, Rule 18, Handling Not Allowed says: You may not move or adjust anything
>outside Base, before, during, or after the match.

>
For the situation you described, the doctor (nurse) is a piece
>of CARGO (rule 14--the robot has it for transport). That figure needs to cross
>into base (some part of it over the boundary line), or else the referee will take
>it off the field and out of play when the team touches the robot.

>
There is one exception this year--when any part of the syringe crosses
>into base, then the team may take the entire syringe, and the red and white blood
>cells it is carrying into Base. (see the Mission description)

>
Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor

>
On Oct 17, 2010, at 9:17 PM, Viquar Shaikh wrote:

>
>
Hello
My question is regarding the nurse in base. When the robot grabs the nurse and
>comes back to base, is it sufficient that the robot is in base, while the nurse
>- still in the robot's grasp - is outside the base. Can the kids then pick up the
>nurse from outside the base??
Thanks
Viquar
Team #8637

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
>VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.

>

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
>VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.



--
"There are two hard problems in computer science: cache invalidation, naming things, and off-by-one errors."
--Unattributed


To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.