>Yeah. I have to second Viquar's syringe results. Our is set loose
>and rolls until it hits the back wall of the base.
>See what's causing the friction on your wheels.
From: Viquar Shaikh <[log in to unmask]>
>To: [log in to unmask]
>Sent: Mon, October 18, 2010 1:33:33 PM
>Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Nurse in base ...
> I would defintely check the syringe wheels or something. Our syringe rolls
>back all the way till the south wall with good speed. Make sure that the wheels
>are not fixed too tight.
>On Mon, Oct 18, 2010 at 1:30 PM, <
>target="_blank" class=" parsedEmail">[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>0.8ex; padding-left: 1ex;" class="gmail_quote">Hi Steve,Regarding the final item in your reply, the syringe on our practice table usually
>penetrates into the base by just 1 to 2 inches. I have verified that all the
>wheels spin smoothly and the ramp is built correctly.Given potential variations in competition tables and models, how will referees
>handle syringes that fall just short of the base? Give benefit of the doubt
>and allow the kids to grab the syringe so that they can screen the red / white blood
>cells?Thanks,Wally WalterCo-coach, Lake Anne Sea Monsters
>Oct 17, 2010 09:33:36 PM,
>target="_blank" class=" parsedEmail">[log in to unmask] wrote:
>>after-white-space; ">Viquar,No--each object that the robot retrieves from the field has to cross
>>into Base itself before the team members may pick it up.
>>Under Rule 22, Touch Penalties, it says:If you touch the active robot or anything it’s touching while: a
>>piece of CARGO is outside Base, you lose that piece of cargo, unless it was
>>the robot the last time the robot left Base.
>>Also, Rule 18, Handling Not Allowed says: You may not move or adjust anything
>>outside Base, before, during, or after the match.
>>For the situation you described, the doctor (nurse) is a piece
>>of CARGO (rule 14--the robot has it for transport). That figure needs to
>>into base (some part of it over the boundary line), or else the referee will
> >it off the field and out of play when the team touches the robot.
>>There is one exception this year--when any part of the syringe crosses
>>into base, then the team may take the entire syringe, and the red and white
>>cells it is carrying into Base. (see the Mission description)
>>Steve ScherrVA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
>>On Oct 17, 2010, at 9:17 PM, Viquar Shaikh wrote:
>>HelloMy question is regarding the nurse in base. When the robot grabs the nurse and
>>comes back to base, is it sufficient that the robot is in base, while the
>>- still in the robot's grasp - is outside the base. Can the kids then pick
> >nurse from outside the base??ThanksViquarTeam #8637
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
> >VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
>https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.