You all are not the only ones with issues bumping that bone piece out of
place. One little bump messes everything up.

Mike

On Tue, Oct 19, 2010 at 6:23 AM, Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Jeff,
>   the Body Forward rules are pretty firm on these questions:
>
> 23 - ROBOT ACTIONS STAND - Anything done to your field by the active ROBOT
> outside Base STAYS that way, unless the active ROBOT changes it.
>  Objects outside Base are not repaired, reset, recovered, or moved out of
> the way by hand.
>  This means the robot can ruin its own opportunity to accomplish tasks,
> and it can even spoil previous progress/results
>  If your active robot (untouched by you) loses contact with cargo, the
> cargo stays where it comes to rest unless/until the active robot regains
> contact with it. It may not be recovered by hand. Anything that comes off
> the table is kept by the ref.
> Exception: Parts not designed to separate from the robot, but which
> separate due to obviously accidental DAMAGE may be recovered by YOU, by
> hand, at any time  even if they have cargo (gift: you keep any cargo in
> question).
>
> So the answers are no, the referee may not reset a model during the match,
> and no, there are no stray objects this year, and anything that the robot
> places on the field stays where it is.  (Note the exception about obviously
> accidental damage that breaks off an attachment).
>
> Yes, the team and robot have to deal with these type of situations during
> the match--but the robot might be able to undo some of the things it does.
>  For example, it might be able to reset the leg so that the bridge can be
> inserted and the goal kicked.  Most types of resetting are more complicated
> than an FLL team is likely to be able to do, but realigning the leg might be
> quite possible, if it happens enough in practice to make the team aware of
> the issue.
>
> Steve
>
> On Oct 18, 2010, at 11:24 PM, Jeff Schatz wrote:
>
> I would like to confirm my assumptions regarding two situations
>
> 1.      Robot leaves base disrupts and model such that it can no longer be
> used to score.  Specifically, on the patent mission, it hits the bone bridge
> leg such that it can no longer be used to kick the ball into the goal.  Have
> we lost the opportunity to score or can we request the referee to put it
> back in place since we bumped it accidentally?  (assume were out of luck
> and lose the points)
>
> 2.     If we leave an attachment behind (in this case on purpose) but
> leave it in the wrong place due to robot inconsistency. If the attachment is
> now in the way of our future missions, can we (A. )Ask for it to be removed
> as a stray object (assume the answer is no, were out of luck and must deal
> with it) (B.) Remove it ourselves and take a touch penalty (assume the
> answer is yes, we can do this)
>
> Im sure the rules cover these items but its not always easy to feel 100%
> positive in my interpretation, so I want to be check so I dont steer the
> team wrong.
>
> Many thanks,
>
> Jeff Schatz
> Head Coach
> Cougar Spirit
>
>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
>
>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave
> the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.
>



-- 
--
Michael Brown
Y!:nrune AOL:nrune
GPS: Team Virginia Brown's

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html to subscribe.