No--each object that the robot retrieves from the field
has to cross into Base itself before the team members may pick it
Under Rule 22, Touch Penalties, it says:
If you touch the active robot or anything itís touching
while: a piece of CARGO is outside Base, you lose that piece of
cargo, unless it was with the robot the last time the robot left
Also, Rule 18, Handling Not Allowed says: You may not move or
adjust anything outside Base, before, during, or after the match.
For the situation you described, the doctor (nurse) is a
piece of CARGO (rule 14--the robot has it for transport). That
figure needs to cross into base (some part of it over the boundary line),
or else the referee will take it off the field and out of play when the
team touches the robot.
There is one exception this year--when any part of the
syringe crosses into base, then the team may take the entire syringe, and
the red and white blood cells it is carrying into Base. (see the
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Oct 17, 2010, at 9:17 PM, Viquar Shaikh wrote:
My question is regarding the nurse in base. When the robot grabs
the nurse and comes back to base, is it sufficient that the robot is in
base, while the nurse - still in the robot's grasp - is outside the
base. Can the kids then pick up the nurse from outside the base??
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and
select "Join or leave the list".
announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ADMIN-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-admin-l.html