No, the statement about "any direction" is incorrect. Rule 8 describes Base, and has a nice diagram: Base is an imaginary box formed by vertical walls that rise from the perimeter of the Base area, including the inside surface of the border walls, and by an invisible ceiling 16 in (40 cm) high. • This means Base is not just an area on the mat – it’s a VOLUME. • Usually there is a gap between the mat and a side border wall… Base includes this gap. So the sides of Base are walls coming up from the border lines and the walls, and the top is 16 inches high. As Sonya said, an attachment or part of the robot that extends over the table wall is not an acceptable starting position. After the robot starts, then it is allowed to extend over the table wall under its own power. Steve Scherr VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor On Sun, Oct 16, 2011 at 2:15 PM, B Bergenstock <[log in to unmask]> wrote: > It's 16 inches in any direction. > Brandy > > On Sat, Oct 15, 2011 at 6:44 PM, Viquar Shaikh <[log in to unmask]> wrote: >> >> Hello >> >> With the robot in base at the start can a attachment go over the side wall >> on the South and West wall. Would that still be considered as being safe in >> base?? >> >> Thanks much, >> Viquar >> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list". -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.