Actually, the referee does reset things, when appropriate: Rule 23 – Reversibile Accidents When things such as a sleeve, table-bump, or illegal action disturb the field in any way, the ref physically reverses the change if he or she feels that’s easy... And the referee will move the pinwheel backwards during the match to assess touch penalties. Mission: Touch Penalty – If you touch the robot while it’s outside Base, the referee clicks the cardiovascular exercise dial one click toward zero. To answer the question, "what happens if the pinwheel clicks twice", we look at the mission description: METHOD RESTRICTION: — between every click of the wheel and the next, the robot must get completely into base at least once and Game Update 3: Leave Base, click once, with or without doing other stuff, go back to Base, come back out, click once more, with or without doing other stuff, and so on. The dial must move by pinwheel clicks only and only one per outing. Moving the pinwheel twice is an illegal action, so, by Rule 23, the referee undoes the illegal action. The question for the referee is, "what is the illegal action?" Is it (1) moving the pinwheel the second click before returning to Base, or (2) doing something that moves the pinwheel two clicks? In Case (1), the referee will undo the second click, and leave the first one untouched. In Case (2), the referee will undo both clicks. Before reviewing the Challenge, I thought that I knew what I would do, but after reviewing the Challenge, I am unsure. So, for the time being, Rule 29 applies. Rule 29 - Benefit of the Doubt You get the benefit of the doubt when: -- a situation could “go either way” due to confusing, conflicting, or missing information. However, I will write to Scott Evans and ask for a Game Update/clarification, so this interpretation may not be valid during tournament season. My recommendation: a well-designed robot should only take actions that will normally move the pinwheel one click. It should be an accident or out-of-control effect that would cause a double-click, not the robot doing its planned interaction with the Cardiovascular Exercise mission. Steve Scherr VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor On Fri, Sep 14, 2012 at 8:39 PM, Brandy bergenstock <[log in to unmask]> wrote: > The rules stated that it would only count 1 click per base trip. Refs don't > usually reset items, so I am assuming- until an official ruling comes down > from high- that if you turn it more than 1 click per base trip, it won't > count (for the 2nd+ turn) and you have limited the number of points you get > from that items because you "wasted" a turn. > That's my interpretation. > Brandy > > > ________________________________ > From: will chen <[log in to unmask]> > To: [log in to unmask] > Sent: Friday, September 14, 2012 7:06 PM > Subject: [VADCFLL-L] > > thanks, I was also wondering, if you hit the cardio exercise too hard and it > moves more then one click, then what would the referee do? > > > [log in to unmask] ~ -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list". -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.