Print

Print


Thanks






[log in to unmask] ~




On Fri, Sep 14, 2012 at 10:06 PM, VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>wrote:

> Actually, the referee does reset things, when appropriate:
>
> Rule 23 – Reversibile Accidents
> When things such as a sleeve, table-bump, or illegal action disturb
> the field in any way, the ref physically reverses the change if he or
> she feels that’s easy...
>
> And the referee will move the pinwheel backwards during the match to
> assess touch penalties.
>
> Mission:  Touch Penalty – If you touch the robot while it’s outside
> Base, the referee clicks the cardiovascular exercise dial one click
> toward zero.
>
>
> To answer the question, "what happens if the pinwheel clicks twice",
> we look at the mission description:
> METHOD RESTRICTION:
> — between every click of the wheel and the next, the robot must get
> completely into base at least once
>
> and Game Update 3:
> Leave Base, click once, with or without doing other stuff, go back to
> Base, come back out, click once more, with or without doing other
> stuff, and so on.  The dial must move by pinwheel clicks only and only
> one per outing.
>
>
> Moving the pinwheel twice is an illegal action, so, by Rule 23, the
> referee undoes the illegal action.
>
> The question for the referee is, "what is the illegal action?"  Is it
> (1)  moving the pinwheel the second click before returning to Base, or
> (2)  doing something that moves the pinwheel two clicks?
>
> In Case (1), the referee will undo the second click, and leave the
> first one untouched.
> In Case (2), the referee will undo both clicks.
>
> Before reviewing the Challenge, I thought that I knew what I would do,
> but after reviewing the Challenge, I am unsure.  So, for the time
> being, Rule 29 applies.
>
> Rule 29 - Benefit of the Doubt
> You get the benefit of the doubt when:
> -- a situation could “go either way” due to confusing, conflicting, or
> missing information.
>
> However, I will write to Scott Evans and ask for a Game
> Update/clarification, so this interpretation may not be valid during
> tournament season.
>
> My recommendation:  a well-designed robot should only take actions
> that will normally move the pinwheel one click.  It should be an
> accident or out-of-control effect that would cause a double-click, not
> the robot doing its planned interaction with the Cardiovascular
> Exercise mission.
>
> Steve Scherr
> VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
>
> On Fri, Sep 14, 2012 at 8:39 PM, Brandy bergenstock
> <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> > The rules stated that it would only count 1 click per base trip. Refs
> don't
> > usually reset items, so I am assuming- until an official ruling comes
> down
> > from high- that if you turn it more than 1 click per base trip, it won't
> > count (for the 2nd+ turn) and you have limited the number of points you
> get
> > from that items because you "wasted" a turn.
> > That's my interpretation.
> >  Brandy
> >
> >
> > ________________________________
> > From: will chen <[log in to unmask]>
> > To: [log in to unmask]
> > Sent: Friday, September 14, 2012 7:06 PM
> > Subject: [VADCFLL-L]
> >
> > thanks, I was also wondering, if you hit the cardio exercise too hard
> and it
> > moves more then one click, then what would the referee do?
> >
> >
> > [log in to unmask] ~
>
> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
>
> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via
> VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to
> subscribe.
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.