Yes, as Brian said, you may place the Lady (or other) object in Base for the robot to interact with:
Rule 24 - STAGING:  You may at any time place objects completely in Base for the autonomous robot to move or use.
Rule 29, START/RESTART POSITION gives you the particulars involved with starting or restarting the robot:
   -  the robot and everything it is touching or about to touch must be completely within Base
   -  Everything is motionless
   -  Nothing is being touched by the team
   -  Mission models must not fail the Gravity Test (Rule 15)
Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor
On Mon, Oct 7, 2013 at 1:10 PM, Brian Hardy <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
I can't emphasis enough how important it is to read the rules. Scott has done an amazing job of describing what can and cannot be done, and if you don't see a rule that addresses a particular issue, then its allowed (what genius!)

The only rule that applies to this issue is that the entire robot must file in base along with anything the robot is about to act on (rule 29, Start/restart position, bullet one). You're allowed to place items that are "in base" outside of base to get them out of the way, but if the robot is going to act on them, they must be in base(rule 21, Stored objects), although you can place them there are any time (rule 24, Staging). 


On Oct 7, 2013, at 12:43 PM, Larry Landsberg wrote:

Can you place the red clothed girl from base in front of your robot in base? Basically starting the robot out with her in front of it?

Thank you,

Larry Landsberg

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.