I see some real good points in the previous string. Our last year's team did not practice the tasks in sequence. The changeouts killed us.
I have a new question. Scott mentioned a goal was to get the pets to people. Does retrieving a pet to home base where the one girl is count for scoring?
Gildersleeve Seahawks Coach
I can't emphasis enough how important it is to read the rules. Scott has done an amazing job of describing what can and cannot be done, and if you don't see a rule that addresses a particular issue, then its allowed (what genius!)
The only rule that applies to this issue is that the entire robot must file in base along with anything the robot is about to act on (rule 29, Start/restart position, bullet one). You're allowed to place items that are "in base" outside of base to get them out of the way, but if the robot is going to act on them, they must be in base(rule 21, Stored objects), although you can place them there are any time (rule 24, Staging).
On Oct 7, 2013, at 12:43 PM, Larry Landsberg wrote:
Can you place the red clothed girl from base in front of your robot in base? Basically starting the robot out with her in front of it?
It would be my guess that this robot is the reason for the junk penalty this year. I originally thought the junk penalty resulted from the orange quilt until I saw this video.
Coach for Code Crackers and Capital Girls
My team considered that, but besides the complexity issue, we worried about the transition time and robot bloat issues in trying to provide the switch-ability mechanism.
That said, I'd live to see the video, could you post a link?
Answer for question two.
There is a team that does the multiple chassis plan. The motors and programmable brick are moved.
There are youtube videos that show them switching between missions.
On 2013-10-07 07:46, Larry Landsberg wrote:
2 separate questions. Hoping for 2 separate answers.
1. Can you use multiple robots during the tournament, ie 1 robot (EVS) for the first mission we attempt then a second robot (NXT ) for the next mission we attempt?
2. Can we have two different chassis but 1 brick that we switch between chassis during the tournament?
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and
select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html